Um, I fail at brevity. I apologize for the rambling.
For
1. There was this cute little Italian place I loved to eat at when I was in college that served the most amazing pasta. I am a pasta addict so it was pretty much love at first sight. Anyway, they have this one dish it’s fettuccine noodles, steak tips, portabella mushrooms, spinach, and artichokes in a cream sauce with parmesan cheese on top---seriously the best pasta dish ever. Generally I’m not a fan of steak, but man it was so good. Of course you have to finish it off with a slice of blueberry cheesecake. They made their own whipped cream to go on top. Just guh. So delicious.
2. I hate soup. Like pretty much loathe it, but my mother makes this vegetable soup that I adore. We only ever have it in the winter so I have to wait until around October/November every year to have some. The trick to her soup is it’s not really soup…it’s kind of a stew. It’s really hearty with tons of vegetables and macaroni noodles. We crunch up Ritz crackers in it to soak up all of the juice. It’s my ultimate comfort food.
3. Before I moved in with my last roommate I had never heard of the Pita Pit. She was obsessed with it though so the minute I moved in she made me order takeout. Let’s just say by the time I graduated I was on a first name basis with most of the delivery guys. I always ordered the same thing: the grilled chicken pita with mushrooms, tomatoes, lettuce, cheddar cheese, and honey mustard. I miss living close to a Pita Pit. When I make them at home they never taste the same.
4. The first time my brother made us egg rolls I thought I had died and gone to some wonderful food version of heaven. I’m a fan of egg rolls in pretty much any form, but homemade chicken and vegetable egg rolls dipped in soy sauce? Perfect.
5. That one time I went to Red Lobster and got the shrimp trio platter? Best decision I ever made. Shrimp pasta, grilled shrimp, and fried shrimp all on one glorious plate. Shrimp is pretty much the only seafood that I like, but I make up for it by making it my absolute favorite food ever.
For
angela_weber:
1. Mulder/Scully, The X-Files
They were my OTP before I had any idea what an OTP was. I think I was around ten when I started watching the X-Files, I’m 23 now and I’ve never once fallen out of love with this couple. The loyalty between them and the friendship is so pure and wonderful and it’s the one thing that always sustains them. No matter what kind of weird crap they were going through they always knew they could lean on each other. Last summer when I went to see the movie and realized that they were still together, still supporting each other, still fighting side by side, I breathed a sigh of relief. Because seriously, if Mulder and Scully couldn’t make it work then there’s no hope for the rest of us.
2. Luke/Lorelai, Gilmore Girls
The first day they met she gave him a horoscope she ripped out of the newspaper and scribbled “you will meet an annoying woman today, if you give her coffee she’ll go away.” She never went away and he kept the horoscope in his pocket for eight years. No one pined for each other as wonderfully as Luke/Lorelai, and I can’t think of another couple that I wanted to get a happily ever after as much as these two. When it all went to hell my heart absolutely broke, I didn’t ship anyone else for quite awhile after that. It was glorious while it lasted though.
3. Sawyer/Juliet, Lost
Once upon a time I didn’t care about a single romantic storyline on Lost. I didn’t mind the idea of Jack/Kate or Kate/Sawyer, but I had no strong feelings on the subject. Jin/Sun were okay. Charlie/Claire had their moments. Des/Penny were epic, but not in a oh my god I must read copious amounts of fic about them kind of way. I didn’t mind not caring because the thing about shipping is it’s emotionally exhausting.
But then Sawyer came crawling out of the ocean and landed at the feet of my girl and I realized I was screwed. There was no way I wasn’t going to fall in love with them. You see I’ve been in love with one Ms. Juliet Burke since the opening scene of “A Tale of Two Cities”, I liked Sawyer just fine but the moment they put him near Juliet I started to understand what everyone had been going on about all these years. Together they made each other better. Sawyer let go of some of that anger and asshattery and became an actual well adjusted human being. Juliet found some measurement of happiness and someone who believed in her. They didn’t tear each other apart, they built each other up. It was beautiful and no matter what kind of crap they come up with next season, I’ll hold onto to the fact that they were for one brief shining moment truly happy. And hey, so was I.
4. Willow/Oz, BTVS
He noticed her because she was wearing an Eskimo suit, not despite it. They were the most adorable and happy-making couple I ever shipped until it all went wrong. I don’t care what Joss says he’s in Istanbul with blue hair waiting for her to turn the corner. And one of these days she will.
5. Remus/Sirius, HP
My one and only slash OTP. These boys are like tragedy dipped in tragic sauce with a side of pain and suffering, but my god it hurts so good.
For
elliotsmelliot:
1. Deadwood: Dan pokes a guy’s eye out.
I have issues with anything coming near my eyes so watching Dan poke a guy’s eye out and then seeing said eye flop around was more than traumatic. The guy was screaming, I was screaming. It wasn’t pretty. I’m still twitching just thinking about it.
2. Little House on the Prairie: Ma Ingalls attempts to cut her own leg off.
I was around eight enjoying what I thought was going to be a nice episode of Little House where Ma spent a weekend baking and knitting while the family went to town. I should have known something was up when she scratched her leg with that rusty metal, but I was young and innocent. A few minutes later she had a fever and started hallucinating. Then she managed to turn the Bible to the verse about cutting off body parts that offend thee. Pa got back in time to save Ma, but it was too late for me. I was and still am completely freaked out by that episode. Moral of the story: The Bible is scary.
3. Torchwood Children of Earth Day Five: The whole thing. Between Frobisher killing his entire family and himself to spare them from becoming the drug of choice for the aliens and Captain Jack sacrificing his own grandson to save the world, this has got to be the most traumatic episode of television I’ve ever watched. Add the government going all evil and literally snatching people’s kids out of their arms and you’ve got a recipe for some serious Big Brother paranoia. Moral of the story: Humanity sucks.
4. BTVS: The Body. This episode should have just been subtitled “Go Hug Your Mother Right Now.”
5. The Office: Dwight begs for Michael’s forgiveness. I can’t remember the title of the episode, but it hit all of my embarrassment squicks because Dwight was on his knees in front of everyone crying and begging Michael not to fire him. Can. Not. Watch. Just no, show, a world of no.
For
joyyjpg:
1. “I’m going to ride shotgun.” Charlie and Hurley go for a joyride in Tricia Tanaka is Dead.
2. “Something smells good…” The flower sniffing reveal of Sawyer/Juliet in La Fleur.
3. “It’s the best bloody peanut butter I ever tasted.” The imaginary peanut butter story is my all time favorite Lost subplot. How can you watch that scene and not grin?
4. The Freighter Folks arrive. The introduction of a group of people who were actually excited about being on the island was a refreshing change of pace. “Confirmed Dead” is one of my go to episodes for when I need a pick me up.
5. The Phone Call/Des and Penny reunite on the freighter. It’s a tie. Both of these moments make me grin no matter how many times I watch them.
For
valhalla37:
1. Oz breaks the vase in “Choices”. Oz so rarely lost his temper; you knew he meant business when he did. In this episode everyone was sitting around debating about whether or not they should go rescue Willow from Faith and the mayor. Oz gets up, quietly crosses the room and smashes this magical vase thing on the ground. Mind you he never says a word. Buffy gets the message anyway.
2. “I mock you with my monkey pants.” That whole sequence from What’s My Line? Pt.2 is perfect. It’s the first time he really gets to talk to Willow and his animal cracker monologue was brilliant.
3. Sitting in the bathtub trying to control the wolf in “Fear Itself”. It’s such a dark moment and it has some of the best acting I think Seth Green has ever done. He just looks so desperate. It’s such a powerful moment because Oz is a guy who is always in control. It just breaks me every time.
4. “My whole life, I’ve never loved anything else.” The goodbye scene in “Wild at Heart”. He’s crying man and then he just sits in his van for a minute and you know he wants to go back, but he can’t.
5. The van scene in “Innocence” where he turns Willow down because he wants her to want him back. That little, “it’s okay, I can wait" kills me. Best guy ever, yes?
no subject
Date: 8/18/09 06:33 pm (UTC)I also love your description of Sawyer/Juliet... *sigh* Such a different pairing, and I didn't see it coming until early S5, but still... epic in a quiet way <3
no subject
Date: 8/18/09 11:40 pm (UTC)I love that they're not particularly showy. They fit together in this nice comfortable way that makes me unspeakably happy.
no subject
Date: 8/18/09 06:40 pm (UTC)I fell out of love with X-Files, but never with Mulder and Scully. I want to see the movie just for those bits.
Silly me, at first I though your Oz list was about the HBO prison show. I love Seth Green's delivery of Oz's lines, like this one - "But we know the world didn't end, 'cause... check it out."
I was trying to guess which Deadwood bit freaked you out. I thought it would be a more emotional trauma like what Al did to the Reverand. But yes, Dan's eye poking was traumatizing. If you havw yet to finish the series, I can think of another losing-a-body-part still to come that is on par with the eye. Brace yourself!
Ah yes, for delirious Ma and her leg! I was traumatized by many Little House episodes. Wasn't there one where a little girl was raped by her father and died? And then there was one with Albert's girlfriend was raped and died? Maybe it was the same.
cool lists
Date: 8/18/09 07:21 pm (UTC)mael
no subject
Date: 8/18/09 11:54 pm (UTC)Seth Green owns me. I just wish he made better career choice. I will not watch a Wild Hogs sequel. I don't care how much I love him.
I'm midway through season three of Deadwood. There's seriously more dismemberment to come? I think my eye is twitching again. I found the sequence where Walcott killed the women pretty traumatic too, mostly because I wasn't expecting that much bloodshed all at once. (I feel horrible for saying this, but I found his character really intriguing. He was evil and kind of insane, but the actor just knocked it out of the park.)
I feel comfortable in saying Little House is the most traumatic show ever made. Look at Mary for instance: Blind? check. Dead baby? Double check. House/Place of employment burned down? Check. And that's just one character. And they call it kid friendly.
no subject
Date: 8/19/09 12:01 am (UTC)Awww, your Lost moments make me so happy. The show can be so sweet sometimes. Sigh.
no subject
Date: 8/19/09 02:49 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 8/19/09 01:39 am (UTC)I love your happy moments! Particularly the Freighties in Confirmed Dead. I rewatched that episode recently and was pleasantly surprised by how much I adored it!
no subject
Date: 8/19/09 02:55 pm (UTC)I remember the first time I watched that episode I just sat there with a goofy grin on my face thinking, "Man, I love all of these people!"